Dear Friends and Colleagues,

The biennial IEEE Conference on Microwaves, Communications, Antennas and Electronic Systems has become a familiar regional event uniting these overlapping topical areas. We are proud to continue the tradition of a high-quality technical program, recognizing particularly the exceptional contributions of the late Prof. Roger Pollard, who was Program Co-Chair in 2009 and 2011. Roger is remembered with respect and gratitude by his many colleagues and friends.

This conference is sponsored by the IEEE COMSOC (Communications Society), IEEE MTTS (Microwave Theory and Techniques Society) and IEEE Israel AP/MTT joint chapter, and technically co-sponsored by additional chapters, societies and professional organizations including the IEEE’s AES (Aerospace and Electronic Systems), APS (Antennas and Propagation); the Association of Engineers and Architects in Israel; the European Microwave Association (EuMA); and the GAAS (GaAs and other Compounds Association).

Reflecting this broad sponsorship, the program of this year’s conference continues to be broad and interdisciplinary.  We have significantly increased the number of tutorials and of industry-oriented invited sessions, making this conference more relevant than ever.  Emphasis continues to be on applications-oriented research and development, from antennas and devices to systems and software, including GaN technology and applications, biomedical systems and applications, phased array radars, SDR and “5G” cellular mobile. Colleagues developing the products and systems of tomorrow and students just beginning to enter these specialized areas should find this conference particularly helpful to their projects and careers. We are pleased to have strong industry patronage and participation. We are grateful for this vital support, and happy that our industry focus is recognized. Our keynote speakers, too, represent high levels of industry and government leadership.

The COMCAS 2015 final program comprises 150 technical presentations, talks and tutorials, arranged in 45 sessions over three days with up to six parallel sessions running concurrently for much of the time. The technical presentations, reviewed, selected and accepted from a larger group of submissions, will be submitted for inclusion to  IEEE-Xplore®. Thanks are due to the members of our large Technical Program Committee for their reviews and suggestions.

Our sincere thanks go to the Conference’s Patrons: Diamond: Keysight Technologies; Platinum: Mini-Circuits, Interlligent, Kratos | GMI Eyal, MTI Summit, National Instruments, Qorvo, NI AWR Design Environment, Intel, CST; Gold: ANSYS, Analog Devices, Macom, OMMIC, Tech-Cent, Richardson RFPD, Freescale; Patron: Digi-Key, IAI/Elta; Supporting Organizations: US Army, US Navy; and Media Supporters: Microwave Journal, iHLS, TechTime, Semisrael, MDI, High Frequency and CommTech for their generous support.

We hope that you will enjoy the conference and find it helpful in both its technical content and the opportunities to network with colleagues in your own and related fields. We welcome your comments to help us organize even better COMCAS meetings in the future.


Shmuel Auster, IEEE COMCAS General Chair

Amir Boag, IEEE COMCAS Technical Program Chair





Shmuel Auster


Prof. Simon Litsyn


Prof. Amir Boag
IEEE COMCAS Technical Program Chair