Shmuel Auster

Shmuel Auster(IEEE M’ 89-SM’ 99) has been with IAI/Elta Systems Ltd. since August 2006 as R&D Coordinator and R&D Liaison Manager. He previously served as the RF&MW Chief Scientist at Elisra Electronic Systems Ltd. (1980-2006). From 1993 to 2000 he represented Elisra as a Director of the Israeli GaAs/MMIC Consortium and was also elected as Chairman of the Technical (R&D) Committee at this Consortium. 

Since January 2010 Mr. Auster has served as Chairman of the Israeli Society of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Director at the Association of Engineers and Architects in Israel and Member of The Council of Engineering & Architecture, Ministry of Economy, Government of Israel.

Mr. Auster has over 20 years of experience serving the IEEE MTT-S, including conference organization and service as MTT-S Chapter and Symposiums Chair. He was the vice-chairman of EuMC1997 and of the international IEEEI 2008 and IEEEI 2010. Since 1996 he has served as a member of numerous Organizing and Technical Program Committees (IEEE, EuMC, EuMIC, MIKON, MELECON, SIBIRCON, MRRS). Shmuel has served as a member of the EuMC Management Committee (1997-2000) and of the EuMA/EuMW Steering Committee (2006-2012). 

He has been also a member of two MTT-S AdCom committees (Since 2009) and was recently selected to serve as the IEEE R8 MTT-S Chapter Ambassador to Italy, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Turkey and Israel. He is an IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques reviewer, IEEE Access Journal Editorial Board member and the Scientific Editor of a leading technology magazine in Israel. Mr. Auster is a member of Israel Association of Periodical Press (IAPP).

Mr. Auster has been the Chairman of the IEEE S-AP/MTT Chapter in Israel since August 2003. He organized and was the Chair of four IEEE Israel S-AP/MTT Chapter Symposiums from 2004 to 2007. In 2007 Shmuel founded and has since chaired the very successful international IEEE COMCAS conference (2008, 2009, 2011 and 2013) covering microwaves, communications, antennas and electronic systems, a new, multi-disciplinary, global IEEE conference supported by six IEEE Societies, IEEE Region 8, EuMA and IET.

In 2011 and 2014 he received "Certificate of Merit" from the engineering faculty of the Ben Gurion University, and an "Honorary Member Certificate" from the Shenkar College of Engineering, where he serves as the chair of the advisory committee for the Electronics Engineering Department. Previously he received IEEE MTTS (3 times), IEEE EMCS and IEEE Region 8 certificates of appreciation. 

Mr. Auster holds a B.Sc. (1980) and M.Sc. (1986) in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Tel Aviv University and a degree in Engineering Management (IMC, Summa Cum Laude, 1993).


Conference Co-Chair


Prof. Simon Litsyn
Tel Aviv University, Israel