Welcome Message

Dear friends and colleagues,

The biennial IEEE Conference on Microwaves, Communications, Antennas and Electronic Systems has become a familiar regional event uniting these overlapping topical areas. We are proud to continue the tradition of a high-quality technical program, recognizing particularly the exceptional contributions of the late Roger Pollard, who was Program Co-Chair in 2009 and 2011. Roger is remembered with respect and gratitude by his many colleagues and friends.

This conference is sponsored by the IEEE Israel AP (Antennas and Propagation) / MTT (Microwave Theory and Techniques) joint chapter, and technically co-sponsored by additional chapters, societies and professional organizations including the IEEE’s AES (Aerospace and Electronic Systems), EMC (Electromagnetic Compatibility), COM (Communications Society), and SSC (Solid-State Circuits); the Association of Engineers and Architects in Israel; the European Microwave Association; and the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology).

Reflecting this broad sponsorship, the program of this year’s conference continues to be broad and interdisciplinary.  We have significantly increased the number of tutorials and of industry-oriented invited sessions, making this conference more relevant than ever. Emphasis continues to be on applications-oriented research and development, from antennas and devices to systems and software, including calibration and testing, automotive radar and communications, and “5G” cellular mobile. Colleagues developing the products and systems of tomorrow and students just beginning to enter these specialized areas should find this conference particularly helpful to their projects and careers. We are pleased to have strong industry patronage and participation. We are grateful for this vital support, and happy that our industry focus is recognized. Our keynote speakers, too, represent high levels of industry leadership.

The COMCAS 2013 final program comprises 140 technical presentations, talks and tutorials, arranged in 31 sessions over two and one-half days with up to five parallel sessions running concurrently for much of the time. The technical presentations, reviewed, selected and accepted from a larger group of submissions, will be archived in IEEE-Xplore®. Thanks are due to the members of our large Technical Program Committee for their reviews and suggestions. 

Our sincere thanks go to the Conference’s Patrons: Diamond: Agilent Technologies; Platinum: Mini-Circuits, Herley Israel, Intel, TriQuint, OMMIC, CST, Interlligent, Starlight, MtiSummit; Gold: AWR, Anritsu, EIM, Huber-Suhner, M/A COM, RFMD, ANSYS, SEMTECH, STG, Integra; Supporting Organizations: U.S. Navy, IAI/Elta ORBIT/FR, WIN; and Media Supporters: Microwave Journal, iHLS, TechTime, Israel Defense magazine for their generous support.
We hope that you will enjoy the conference and find it helpful in both its technical content and the opportunities to network with colleagues in your own and related fields. We welcome your comments to help us organize even better COMCAS meetings in the future.

Shmuel Auster, IEEE COMCAS General Chairman

Stephen Weinstein, IEEE COMCAS Technical Program Chairman







Shmuel Auster


Stephen (Steve) Weinstein
IEEE COMCAS Technical Program Chair